Serving Deaf Patrons in the Library

A two-part webinar series taking place on Wednesdays, September 7 and 14, 2022 at 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific.

Library services are for everyone, and that includes the deaf community. In this workshop, Kathy MacMillan, librarian and certified American Sign Language interpreter, guides you in making your library a more welcoming place for patrons who are deaf or hard of hearing. You will gain an understanding of Deaf culture, learn library-related signs, and become prepared to confidently work with interpreters for your programs.

After participating in this workshop, you will have:

  • An understanding of how to meet your library’s legal obligation to serve deaf and hard of hearing patrons
  • Strategies for communicating with a deaf or hard of hearing person in the library
  • Video demonstrations and handouts for library-related signs, accessible for practice after the workshop
  • Tips for finding, hiring, and working with sign language interpreters
  • Knowledge of varieties of communication among deaf and hard of hearing people

Kathy MacMillan is a freelance writer and nationally certified American Sign Language interpreter. She is the author of Nita's First Signs (Familius Press), as well as the author or co-author of many books from ALA Editions, including Little Hands & Big Hands: Children and Adults Signing Together and the Storytime Magic series. She was the library/media specialist at the Maryland School for the Deaf from 2001 to 2005 and has worked in public libraries since 1996.  She presents storytelling programs introducing sign language through Stories By Hand and offers training and resources for enhancing storytimes through Storytime Stuff. Her debut young adult novel, Sword and Verse, was published by HarperCollins in 2016.

This event will be hosted in Zoom. Automatic captions will be enabled for this event. This event will be recorded, and registrants will receive access to the recording within a day after the event ends.

If you have questions or requests regarding accessibility, contact us at ce@ala.org or at 312-280-5100.