Bite-Sized Improvements: How to Make Small, Meaningful Changes to Library Space

A two-part webinar taking place on Wednesdays, July 17 and 24, 2024 at 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific each session.

Library space study methods abound, but when it comes to using our data to make changes, we often run into challenges due to budget or other restrictions. Despite the challenges posed by budget constraints, libraries can still make impactful changes to enhance user experiences.

In this two-part webinar, Lauren Johnson and Nanci DeLa Cruz Aguayo share the solutions they found as a library team working with a small space and small budget after conducting a recent mixed-methods space study. They will explore practical strategies such as modifying existing furniture, implementing focused signage, and adding aesthetic elements to create a more inviting and approachable atmosphere. Participants will also learn how to create their own heat maps and implement a comprehensive, QR-based space survey using Qualtrics. 

This webinar will empower participants with actionable insights and creative solutions that address common challenges faced by libraries. Come prepared to share your strategies and stories of small but mighty library space changes or ask questions of those who have made changes at their own institutions and libraries!

After participating in this event, learners will be able to:

  • Begin developing impact-based creative solutions for library spaces
  • Utilize space study experiences from other libraries
  • Understand how to create heat maps and QR-based surveys in Qualtrics

As a User Experience Librarian, Lauren Johnson designs and conducts holistic assessments of library resources and services so the library can make evidence-based changes to better serve Nevada State University's growing community. She holds a BA in English and Theatre from Presbyterian College and an MFA in Creative Writing and an MS in Information Science from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

As a Library Specialist, Nanci DeLa Cruz Aguayo creates and maintains exemplary customer service at the service desk. She is also responsible for supervising student workers and managing the technology and device lending in the library. Nanci holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a concentration in Management from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

This event will be hosted in Zoom. Automatic captions will be enabled for this event. This event will be recorded, and registrants will receive access to the recording within a day after the event ends.

If you have questions or requests regarding accessibility, contact us at ce@ala.org or at 312-280-5100.