ACRL Presents: Youth Services to Academia - Transitioning Positions within Librarianship

ACRL Presents logo

Wednesday, March 20, 2024
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Pacific | 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. Eastern

The experience of librarians serving youth populations in public and school libraries can differ greatly from the work of an academic librarian. Moving from one area of the field to another can seem incredibly daunting and difficult. Will your skill sets translate to the new environment? Are you going from veteran to novice status? How in the world do you deal with the tenure process? This panel of former youth services and school librarians who made the change to academia will discuss the ins and outs, pros and cons, problems and solutions that they have encountered. Though it may seem like you are a unicorn in your new academic setting, others are on the same path, and we can bring our expertise from servicing youth to enhance our academic libraries.

Presenters

Justin Crossfox, Buffalo State University; Mary Kamela, University at Buffalo; Joel Shoemaker, Methodist College

Tech Requirements

ACRL Presents webinars are held in Zoom. Speakers or a headset for listening to the presentation are required. You may interact with the presenter and ask questions through text-based chat. Closed captioning is available in the Zoom platform. The webinar will be recorded and the link to the recording shared shortly after the live event.

Contact

If you have questions or need to make arrangements for additional assistance or accessibility, please contact Margot Conahan (mconahan@ala.org).