Universal Design for Learning: principles and techniques for library instruction

Thursday, November 10, 2022
2:00 - 3:00 p.m. Eastern
1:00 - 2:00 p.m. Central
12:00 - 1:00 p.m. Mountain
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Pacific

Universal design (UD; also Universal design for learning, UDL) is an approach to teaching that prescribes flexibility and support for many different types of learners. Learn how designing instruction based on UD principles not only helps accommodate learners with disabilities but supports students of all types. Learn basic UD concepts and examine simple ways to apply them to improve your library instruction.

Learning Outcomes: 

  • Explain the benefits of UDL for learners
  • Differentiate UD from accessibility accommodation
  • Apply some essential principles of UD to instructional design in order to provide a better learning experience for a wider range of students

Presenter

Jason Puckett is Online Learning Librarian and Associate Professor at Georgia State University Library in Atlanta, Georgia. Puckett has an MLIS from Florida State University and is the author of the ACRL books Modern Pathfinders: Creating Better Research Guides and Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers & Educators.

Registration

Pricing is listed to the right on this page. To register, use the register button to checkout. You can register a group by specifying the number of people who will be accessing the webcast during checkout. If you are an ACRL member, you can purchase seats for yourself and your colleagues at the ACRL discount rate.

Number of SeatsDiscount
2-515%
6-925%
10+If you are registering 10 or more individuals for a webcast, please email mconahan@ala.org for special discounted pricing. 


Tech Requirements
ACRL Webinars are held in Zoom. Speakers or a headset for listening to the presentation are required. You may interact with the presenter and ask questions through text-based chat. Closed captioning is available in the Zoom platform. The webcast will be recorded and the link to the recording shared shortly after the live event.

Contact

If you have questions or need to make arrangements for additional assistance or accessibility, please contact Margot Conahan (mconahan@ala.org).