Building a Successful Community Literacy Project

A two-part webinar taking place Wednesday, November 16 and Thursday, November 17, 2022 at 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific both sessions.

In this event, expert instructor and adult literacy expert Dr. Lesley Farmer will guide you through the process of setting up a productive, successful community literacy program in your library.

You’ll learn the fundamentals of literacy and how people learn, all from a universal, practical, evidence-based perspective. Dr. Farmer will take you through the process of assessing your community needs, the scope and scale of your project, and how to identify potential community partners. You will learn how to leverage your staff and financial resources for maximum impact and explore examples of real-world programs that have been successful. Both sessions will include time for questions.

After participating in this program, you will be able to:

  • Describe factors that impact community-based literacy projects 
  • Identify best practices in community-based literacy projects 
  • Plan a community-based literacy project

Dr. Lesley Farmer, Professor at California State University (CSU) Long Beach, coordinates the Teacher Librarianship program and manages the CSU ICT Literacy Project. She has worked in all types of libraries and served on the Library of Congress Literacy Awards Advisory Board. She earned her NSLS at UNC Chapel Hill and her doctorate in Adult Education from Temple University. A frequent presenter and writer for the profession, she has garnered several professional offices and honors, including ALA's Leadership Award. Dr. Farmer’s research interests include digital citizenship, information and media literacy, and data analytics.

This event will be hosted in Zoom. Automatic captions will be enabled for this event. This event will be recorded, and registrants will receive access to the recording within a day after the event ends.

If you have questions or requests regarding accessibility, contact us at ce@ala.org or at 312-280-5100.