Scholarly Communication Off-Roadshow: A Three-Part Webcast Series

May 5, May 12, and May 19, 2022

2:00 PM-3:00 PM (Eastern)
1:00 PM-2:00 PM (Central)
12:00 PM-1:00 PM (Mountain)
11:00 AM-12:00 PM (Pacific)

Webcast One: The Lay of the Land: Framing the Issues Impacting Scholarly Communication
Thursday, May 5, 2022 - 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. Central
The range of scholarly communication initiatives is vast and deep, but a few key considerations underlie the field, impacting our work in a variety of ways. In this session we’ll survey the current landscape of scholarly communications and identify key issues that we must successfully navigate on our journey to develop, grow, and successfully promote these initiatives at our institution.

Webcast Two: Navigating new routes towards Open Science practices
Thursday, May 12, 2022 - 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. Central
This session offers an overview of the current landscape and emerging possibilities for libraries related to Open Science (aka Open Research, or Open Scholarship). We will provide a definition and overview of Open Science, discuss some of the challenges, opportunities, and conversations taking place around Open Science, and offer some suggested pathways for libraries to explore.

Webcast Three: (Re)Building the Road as We Go
Thursday, May 19, 2022 - 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. Central
This session brings together the threads from the full series and prepares participants to blaze their own scholarly communication trails in 2022. We’ll talk about the chronic issues that have been cast in a new light by the public health and social justice crises of the past year and offer case studies from institutions across the field who have used this moment to make exciting change.

Who Should Attend
The webcast series is appropriate for those with administrative responsibilities, with new leadership assignments in scholarly communication or digital publishing, as well as liaisons and any others who are seeking to advance their professional development in scholarly communication.

Registration
Pricing is listed to the right on this page. To register, use the register button to checkout. You can register a group  by specifying the number of people who will be accessing the webcast series during checkout. If you are an ACRL member, you can purchase seats for yourself and your colleagues at the ACRL discount rate.

Number of Seats Discount
2-5 15%
6-9 25%
10+ If you are registering 10 or more individuals for the webcast series, please email ce@ala.org for special discounted pricing. 

Tech Requirements
ACRL Webinars are held in Zoom. Speakers or a headset for listening to the presentation are required. You may interact with the presenter and ask questions through text-based chat. Closed captioning is available in the Zoom platform. The webinar will be recorded and the link to the recording shared with registrants shortly after the live event.